Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Rathmann Challenge

Grants to USA Nonprofits, Agencies, and Schools to Diminish
the Effects of Climate Change Through the Use of Compost

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Rathmann Family Foundation - Rathmann Innovation Center

Deadline Date:

03/29/17 11:00 AM Eastern Time


Request a Grant Writer

Grants to USA nonprofits, government agencies, and schools for innovative projects that will alleviate the effects of climate change through the use of compost. Projects should seek to significantly expand the use of compost across the country. Examples of possible projects include, but are not limited to, compost operator training, infrastructure development, market development, organic waste material management practices, practice adoption, professionalization of compost science, public education and marketing, scientific research, and soil management practices.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 179475

Number of Grants:

Up to 10

Estimated Size of Grant:

The recipient receives $100,000 for their past outstanding work and the exclusive invitation to apply for an Even Bigger Idea grant of $200,000.

Term of Contract:

The Recipient has up to six months from the date they receive the funding to begin the collaborative application process in which the Rathmann Challenge Recipient works with the Rathmann Family Foundation to refine various ideas which could result in a $200,000 grant -- $100,000 for each of two years.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

Eligibility criteria specific to the 2017 Rathmann Challenge are as follows:

1) An applicant organization must be a public charity as demonstrated through a current 501(c)(3) designation letter from the Internal Revenue Service or by virtue of 26 IRC 170b1A as a fully accredited public or private school or university, or as an instrument of a federal, state or local government (for example a town);

2) An applicant organization must reside in and deliver programs or services within at least one of the 50 United States or District of Columbia;

3) An applicant organization must have an annual operating budget of at least $100,000;

4) An applicant organization must not be a “disqualified entity” nor have a close affiliation with a “disqualified person.”

Generally, organizations eligible to submit an Application are validly formed legal entities that do not discriminate on the basis of race, religion, age, gender, sexual orientation, national origin, disability, veteran status, marital status or other factors prohibited by law and do not promote or engage in violence or terrorist activities.

Pre-Application Information:

Application submission opens on Wednesday, February 15, 2017 at 11:00 AM Eastern Time.

- February 16 – May 22, 2017: Initial Committee Review
- May 23 – June 1, 2017: Confidentiality & Conflict Disclosure Agreement Certification
- June 2 – July 13, 2017: Peer Review
- July 14 – July 28, 2017: Peer Review Response
- July 29 – August 15, 2017: Intermediate Committee Review
- August 16 – October 11, 2017: Due Diligence & Final Committee Review
- October 12 – October 31, 2017: Finalist Phase
- November 2017: Announcement and Award


Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Rathman Innovation Center
Phone: 844-820-8400

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming