Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Herbert W. Nickens Faculty Fellowship

Fellowship to a USA Medical School Assistant Professor
to Address Inequality in Healthcare or Medical Education

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC)

Deadline Date:



Request a Grant Writer

Fellowship award of $25,000 to a USA assistant professor at an accredited medical school for a project addressing racial or ethnic inequality in healthcare or medical education. The fellowship recipient will be someone who displays a commitment to pursuing a career in academic medicine. In addition, this award recognizes an outstanding junior faculty member who demonstrates leadership potential in addressing inequity in medical education and health care, and demonstrated efforts in addressing educational, societal, and health care needs of racial and ethnic minorities in the United States.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 159930

Estimated Size of Grant:

The recipient receives a $25,000 grant.

Term of Contract:

Funding for the fellowship begins in November of the year the fellowship is awarded.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

A medical school may nominate one current faculty member per year for this award.

A candidate must:

- Be a U.S. citizen or permanent resident.
- Hold the rank of full-time assistant professor in a LCME-accredited U.S. medical school department.
- Have held the assistant professor position appointment beginning no earlier than July 1, 2016.
- Have received only one appointment as assistant professor.
- Hold a MD, PhD, or have earned another doctoral degree.

Pre-Application Information:

The deadline to email your nomination packet is April 5, 2019.

Please note that nomination/recommendation letters from the school's dean and the nominee’s department or section chair are required.

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Please email your completed nomination packet in a single electronic file to Angela Moses at

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming